DM Riches: Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag from Dicemonkey.net

Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag

Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag from dicemonkey.net

Not too long ago, Mark Meredith of dicemonkey.net posted a picture of a crocheted dwarf dice bag on Twitter. From my first session of Dungeons and Dragons I’ve love playing dwarves, and so I knew immediately that I wanted one. At the time he was just testing the waters a bit, and showing off the skills of his wife Bridget, so I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get one. Luckily based on my response to his preview he offered me the chance to buy the bag and I jumped at it.

Though Mark told me there would be a slight delay in mailing the product due to bad weather in his area, it wasn’t much more than a week later when the bag arrived in my mail box. Like other small businesses I’ve dealt with, DiceMonkey took the time to do a nice job packaging their product. The crocheted bag required little packaging, but it was wrapped neatly in a piece of what I believe was wrapping paper, and included a personalized handwritten note.

The product is gorgeous, exactly as seen in the pictures, and I know I was grinning as I looked at it, moved the horns around a little bit, and stretching out the beard so it was as long as it could be. My wife was nearby and said ‘A viking!’, and while I told her it was a dwarf, and think of it as a dwarf, I can easily see how it could be a viking as well.

I don’t know if he mentioned it when he posted the pictures, but the dicemonkey website calls this a Jumbo Sized bag, claiming it would hold 15 complete sets of dice. I didn’t put together sets of dice, but I was able to put in 125 dice without coming close to the full capacity of the bag. I wouldn’t be surprised if I could fit closer to 175 dice before filling the bag. If you look at the picture above, I think you can see on the left side of the photo the yarn pushes in showing it could easily handle more dice.

Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag - with 125 dice inside

Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag - with 125 dice inside

My one worry when ordering the bag was the chance that dice might try sneaking out and stretching the holes in the crochet pattern, but while taking pictures of the bag, I left it hanging with 125 dice inside it and saw no signs of any dice trying to escape the bag. The stitches on the bag are very tight, and while I might be able to force a die out between them, I don’t think they’re going to be slipping out by accident while using the dice bag.

While double checking their website today, I see they’re adding more designs to their product line, and if you’re looking to pick up a hand made dice bag, I strongly advise you to take a look at dicemonkey.net

This entry was posted in DM Riches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DM Riches: Jumbo Sized Specialty Dwarf Bag from Dicemonkey.net

Leave a Reply

