DM Riches: Printable Graph Paper

DM Riches contain products, tools, resources, references, and other items I think you might find useful or entertaining.

My last post showed a chart I on simple 1/4″ square graph paper. I printed that sheet of paper from a web site called Print Free Graph Paper. Because I use an ink-jet printer, it is probably cheaper for me to buy pads of graph paper from the store, and I certainly have purchased a few over the years, but I’m not always the most organized person, and I never seem to be able to find it when I need it. In addition to printing the sheet I used, I was able to save a PDF so I’ll be able to print more sheets when I need them without going online.

While I printed out a basic sheet of Cartesian graph paper, the site also allows you to create hexagonal, isometric, and polar graph papers, as well as a couple other styles. Using this site you may choose beteen .1″, .2, .25″, and .5″ squares, and you can get it in either 8.5″ x 11″, or A4 paper sizes.

Though I’ve used this site before, I did a Google search and managed to find a similar site that offers even more versatility. Incompetech.com offers many of the same options, it has a lot more types of paper, triagular, dots, octagonal, and a lot more. Also, this site allows larger paper sizes, listing 11″ x 17″ and A3 sizes in addition to those listed by Print Free Graph Paper, plus allowing input of custom paper sizes. And instead of a limited selection of grid sizes you can input your own number of lines per inch.

So next time you run out of graph paper you can save yourself a trip to the store and just print your own.

This entry was posted in DM Riches. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DM Riches: Printable Graph Paper

  1. Tim says:

    Thanks for this! I was looking for a place to get battle grids for 4e, and Incompetech works great!

  2. PJStoneson says:

    Yes, I didn’t even think about that, though I have another method of creating my own dungeon tiles that I’ll have to write about soon.

Leave a Reply

