A to Z Blogging Challenge: U is for Undead

U is for Undead

For some reason I hear maniacal laughter each time I type “U is for Undead”.

While zombies and vampires dominate popular culture these days, I am still a fan of the simple skeleton. Perhaps I’ve seen too many Ray Harryhausen films, and perhaps it is cliché, but I love having the bones littering a room suddenly spring to life and attack when some sort of trigger is activated. Usually the trigger is a coffin, or other resting place of the dead, or the shiniest bauble in the room.

In more recent editions and the ability to customize monsters has allowed me to use skeletons of creatures other than humans, anything from gnomes, to orcs, to giants, to dragons can now be a skeleton.  Even better, those skeletons can have some of the special abilities they possessed in life. I’m especially fond of blink dog skeletons popping around the battlefield.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A to Z Blogging Challenge: U is for Undead

  1. Damyanti says:

    The undead fascinate me too—the charm of the unknown, I guess. Great word choice for U.

    • pjstoneson says:

      I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner, the idea hit at the last moment. Lots of undead available in gaming: Vampires, Zombies, Lich, Ghouls….the list goes on and on.

      Always been a fan of the old Hammer vampire films, though we won’t be seeing V is for Vampire today. 😉

  2. Nutschell says:

    Undead. Even the word gives me the chills.
    Great meeting you through the A-Z 🙂

    nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  3. Pingback: A to Z Blogging Challenge: Looking Back | DungeonBriefs

Leave a Reply

